Adventures of an Island Mom

A JOURNEY OF LIVING LIFE FULLY, FRUGALLY, AND FAITHFULLY

Faithful Friday—Weight. November 13, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — srowe5 @ 10:18 am

I’m not usually a person who talks about their weight.  Really.

I rarely ever talk about losing weight, gaining weight, what I’m eating, what I’m not eating, what I’ve gained, what I’ve lost, etc.  I just don’t do it, except on occasion, to my family…….very rare occasions.  And, I have to say, it’s a little bit uncomfortable to be bringing it up right now, but I really felt led to do so.

I think I never really bring up the topic of weight, because it’s not necessarily the most fun topic to talk about, but, also, because I have always felt fairly comfortable in my own skin.  Sure, there have been times that I would like to look a certain way or feel a certain way, but, it is truly honest when I say that I am quite comfortable being me………..

That is, until I had 3 babies in 4 years.

Now, don’t get me wrong…..I still like me, and, I’m not “blaming” the pregnancies on some weight gain, because I had put on a few pounds before I became pregnant, but, obviously, it does play a big role!!  I barely had time to lose all the weight from the previous pregnancies—and then I was pregnant again!!

And, right now, I’m dealing with X amount of extra pounds on my body that I don’t care for.  Granted, I am just 11 weeks out from giving birth, so I know I do have to give my body some time, as well, but I can already tell that I’m not going to be as comfortable if I can’t lose some of this, I’ll call, ‘baby weight’.

So, that’s why I am brought to the topic of weight loss.  We’ve all thought about it and we’ve all tried to do it, one time or another in our lives.  I can guarantee it.  And, maybe you’re feeling like you’d like to lose a few pounds soon??  I know I would.

How is your method of weight loss working for you?  Do you count calories?  Do you take out the sugar?  Do you take out the fat?  Do you eat carb-free?  Do you exercise like mad?  Do you cut out cheese?  Do you take diet pills?  Do you guzzle water like crazy…….and if you do do any of these methods, how are they working for you????????

I’m here to tell you something:   You don’t have to do ANY of the things I just mentioned above.

Really.

I learned a long time ago how to lose weight and how to keep it off.

Have I always followed it, No.

But, if I did, would it always work?  Yes.

Do you want to know the method??????

Here it is:  EAT WHEN YOU’RE HUNGRY AND STOP WHEN YOU’RE FULL.

Honestly, folks, it is that “simple.”

I once read an amazing book that changed me life forever it is by Gwen Shamblin, called, The Weigh Down Diet. RUN to the bookstore, RUN to your nearest library and pick up a copy.  I can guarantee it will change your life, too.  This book, in a nutshell, shows us that OUR LOVE FOR FOOD is what is keeping the weight on.   Not WHAT we eat, but, HOW MUCH we eat.  She teaches us how to focus on God and NOT the food.

After college, I had put on quite a bit of weight and was searching for a way to lose it.  That is, until I took my focus off the food and ate when I was truly hungry and stopped at the first sign of fullness.  I lost somewhere around 45 pounds in a relatively short amount of time.  I didn’t cut anything out, I didn’t exercise any more…….I didn’t change anything.  The world will tell you that you have to change everything about the FOOD, but they don’t tell you that what you really need to change, is, YOU.  If you’re counting calories, taking out the fat, spending time and money buying and searching out “low fat” and “low calorie” foods, then what are you really doing????  FOCUSING ON THE FOOD.  God wants us to focus on Him.

Do you wait for your stomach to growl before you eat?  I tell ya, hearing my stomach growl is one of the most empowering feelings ever.  I know that sounds crazy, but I never used to wait on that.  I just used to figure, hey, when it’s lunch time-I’ll eat lunch, and when it’s dinner time-I’ll eat dinner.

NO.

Eat when you are TRULY hungry and stop when you feel the first signs of fullness.  Is this always something the comes naturally to us?  No.

You know what else?  It’s not about cutting out any food from your life.  The WORLD wants you think that you have to cut calories, cut fat, exercise like crazy, go on wacko diets, drink eight glasses of water a day, etc, etc, etc.  But, NO, you don’t!!!  Don’t follow the world’s example.

Psalms 81: 10–

“I am the Lord your God who brought you up out of Egypt. 

Open wide your mouth and I will fill it.”

Mark 7: 18-19

“Are you so dull?,” he asked?  Don’t you see that nothing that enters a man from the outside can make him unclean?

For it doesn’t go into his heart, but into his stomach,  and then out of his body.”

God wants us to focus on Him and NOT the food.

Is it tough?  Absolutely.  If this were easy, there would be no weight problems in the world.

Can you push your plate away when it’s still half full and you feel true fullness, or do you keep eating?  Can you just eat 4 M&M’s out of the package or do you devour the whole thing?  Do you look up from your plate while you’re eating and savor it slowly, or is your head down–focused on the food?  God wants us to focus on Him.  He wants our love and passion for food to be love and passion for Him.

Now, on to the conversation of eating healthy……….I absolutely believe in eating as healthy as we possibly can.  I believe in taking vitamins and I believe in feeding my family an array of healthy choices.  I will never say that trying to eat healthy is a bad thing.  BUT, I will also NEVER deprive myself or anyone in my family any kind of food.  Eating Broccoli is not more righteous than eating a piece of Cherry Pie!!!  This is why you will NEVER hear me apologize for eating dessert, or eating candy, or eating carbs, or eating cheese……or anything else in between!  The WORLD wants us to feel guilty about that, but don’t listen to their lies!!

It’s not the food, people…..it’s our hearts.

We have to change our mindsets and our hearts.

It’s NOT the food!  It’s HOW MUCH of it we eat.

I truly, 100%, believe that.

I am talking openly and honestly about this, because I know there are so many out there that are struggling to lose some pounds, just like I am, and I want to be “human” and somewhat transparent to you.  I think the topic of weight loss and struggle is a somewhat “taboo” subject……..that’s why I wanted to be open and honest about it.  I believe that many of us are looking for, and longing for, the “answer.”   I also am sharing this with you so that there is a little bit of accountability on my part—-I have followed this way of eating in the past, and it has worked——–I want to follow it again.

Am I saying I’m going to lose this weight instantly?  No.  Am I going to talk about how much I have or haven’t lost?  No.  I, too, am human and have my downfalls, but I am going to strive, everyday, to not listen to what the world says, but, focus on what God says.

I urge you, if you might be struggling in this area……..try to turn your focus away from the food and put it on God.

 

3 Responses to “Faithful Friday—Weight.”

  1. Mom Says:

    Amen, Sarah, amen!! Now if I can just put these principles into practice and focus on GOD and not on food…..

  2. Amy Says:

    I agree, Sarah, that’s it’s our relationship with food that is the bulk of our weight problems. However, I do think physical activity is very important, as well. Not just to help with weight control, but for overall health. Especially for women, exercise is very important to help prevent diseases like osteoporosis, diabetes, and heart disease. I think if we focus more on God than food, we will do a better job of making our bodies a “temple” for Him…exercise is one way to help make our bodies the best they can be (1 Cor. 3: 16-17).

    • srowe5 Says:

      Absolutely, I think physical activity is great! I would not argue with that! 🙂 But, it should not be an only means to losing weight. There are people who exercise like crazy–just so they can eat more! That is more what I was referring to.


Leave a Reply

